November 18, 2009: Mike Ter Louw takes second place for Research at NYU-Polytechnic's Annual Digital Security Challenges

Congratulations to Mike Ter Louw (and his advisor Venkat Venkatakrishnan) for taking second place for Research at NYU-Polytechnic's Annual Digital Security Challenges.

This was for his and Venkat's research on preventing cross-site scripting attacks (BluePrint, which got much publicity earlier). Mike Ter Louw presented this work (part of his PhD dissertation) in New York city and received the award in person. This research award competition was held during the Cyber Security Awareness week (CSAW) in New York this past week.

Research submissions were judged on originality, relevance and presentation by a panel of cyber-security experts. The award carries a $250 cash prize and a citation.

Mike also received a travel grant to attend the event held this past Friday in New York city.

The list of winners appears here:

From the NYU press release:

Found: Cyber Stars of the Future

International Participation Climbs 60 Percent in NYU-Poly?s 6th Annual Digital Security Challenges; Industry and Government Professionals Woo Future Cyber Sleuths

NEW YORK, November 16, 2009 ? Nearly 300 cyber-security celebrities, information security officers from industry and government, academics and students converged on Brooklyn Nov. 13 for cyber games in which students claimed scholarships, prizes and credentials for a career field that is rapidly expanding and offering some of the highest salaries.

The 6th Annual Cyber Security Awareness Week (CSAW) games were organized by the graduate students of Polytechnic Institute of New York University?s leading cyber-security program. Preliminary rounds attracted a record 724 top computer students in America and Europe ? 60 percent more than last year. During the final rounds held at the NYU-Poly campus, more than 100 high school, undergraduate and graduate students competed in rigorous war games, digital mysteries, research and other challenges.

Keynote speaker for the awards ceremony that followed the games was General Electric?s chief information security officer, Grady Summers. Summers is known for embracing emerging technology and has pioneered the use of cloud storage and security as a service to decrease GE?s information risk. His speech, ?Three Challenges to Winning in Cyber Security,? outlined the changing nature of digital threats; once the purview of curious hackers, the invasions now extend to military and national security realms, and the digital weapons are increasingly complex. He encouraged students to use their creativity and persistence as defense tools, and expressed optimism about combating the emerging threats and the career path the students chose.

Judges ? corporate and government digital security officers as well as celebrity ?white hat? hackers who protect networks ? named the following winners:

Capture the Flag Application Security: First place, ppop team, Carnegie Mellon University; second place, RPISEC team, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute; third place, SecDaemons, team, DePaul University.

- more -

High School Cyber Forensics Challenge: First place, Class Sitech Extends Awesome Team 1, Staten Island Technical High School, N.Y.; MD5 Hashbrowns team, High Technology High School, N.J.; Hax4food team, Poolesville High School, Md.

Embedded Systems Challenge: First place, NYU-Poly team of Agilandeshwari Dhandapani, Arun Karthick, Jeyavijayan Rajendran, Ranjit Somasekaran and Xiaohua Xu (Danny); second place, Vanderbilt University team of Trey Rece; third place, Yale University team of Yier Jin and Nathan Kupp.

Quiz Tournament: First place, Robert Escriva and Jay Smith, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute; second place, Adam Comella and Andrew Zonenberg, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute; third place, Sriram Lakshmanan, Georgia Tech and Eugene Vasserman, University of Minnesota.

Research Award: First place, Baris Coskun, NYU-Poly; second place, Mike Ter Louw, University of Illinois at Chicago; third place, Sriram Lakshmanan, Georgia Institute of Technology; honorable mentions, Patrick Gage Kelley, Carnegie Mellon University, and Daniela Alvim Seabra de Oliveira, University of California Davis.

Copyright 2016 The Board of Trustees
of the University of
Helping Women Faculty Advance
Funded by NSF