November 20, 2003: Faculty Position Available
We invite applications for one or more anticipated open rank faculty positions, starting August 16, 2004. A Ph.D. degree or equivalent in Computer Science is required. Candidates at the assistant professor level should have a strong research and teaching potential and senior candidates should have a proven record of outstanding research and teaching. Candidates in all areas of Computer Science will be considered so as to either strengthen or complement the department?s current research.

UIC is a research university with 15 colleges offering ample opportunities for interdisciplinary research. The University is in the midst of a $500 million campus development project. The UIC campus is located near downtown Chicago, and is close to other research institutions and universities. Chicago offers all the cultural amenities of a major city, a wide range of affordable housing and plenty of job opportunities.

The Department of Computer Science, which belongs to the College of Engineering, has 31 faculty members, and more than 80 PhD students. The faculty includes five new hires since 2001, with three more hires being planned by 2006. Four faculty members are IEEE or ACM fellows and seven are NSF CAREER award winners. The department is one of the fastest growing departments in terms of scholarly research and grant productivity. Last year?s external research expenditures exceeded $9 million. The department has state of the art computing resources for research and teaching.

Applications must be submitted in hard copy. Send a vita and the names and addresses of at least three references to Prof. Isabel F. Cruz, Search Committee Chair, The University of Illinois at Chicago, Dept. of Computer Science (M/C 152), 851 S. Morgan Street, Chicago, Illinois 60607-7053. Review of applications will begin on January 6, 2003 and will continue until the positions are filled. Inquiries may be addressed to The University of Illinois at Chicago is an Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer.

Copyright 2016 The Board of Trustees
of the University of
Helping Women Faculty Advance
Funded by NSF