Reading Assignments

I strongly recommend the following reading before the relevant classes. The appropriate pages for the 2nd edition of the textbook are mentioned in parentheses.

  1. [Monday, August 27] Sipser textbook Chapter 0.
  2. [Friday, August 31] Sipser textbook pages 203–206 (pages in 175–178 in 2nd edition) on countable and uncountable infinite sets, and Chapter 1.1–1.3.
  3. [Monday, September 17] Sipser Chapter 1.4 on nonregular languages.
  4. [Wednesday, September 19] Sipser Chapter 2.1, 2.2.
  5. [Wednesday, October 5] Sipser Chapter 3.
  6. [Friday, October 12] Sipser Chapter 4.
  7. [Friday, October 26] Sipser Chapter 5.1 up to and including Thm 5.9.
  8. [Wednesday, October 31] Sipser Chapter 5.3.
  9. [Wednesday, November 2] Read Sipser Problem 5.28 (Rice's Theorem).
  10. [Friday, November 9] Sipser Chapter 7.1.
  11. [Monday, November 12] Sipser Chapter 7.2–7.3.
  12. [Wednesday, November 21] Sipser Chapter 7.5.
  13. [Friday, November 30] Sipser Chapter 7.4.
  14. [Wednesday, December 4] By popular request, Quantum Information and Quantum Computation, Nielsen and Chuang, Chapters 1.2-1.3.
-- Main.gharibian - 2012-08-24
Topic revision: r24 - 2012-12-04 - 23:55:47 - Main.sggharib
 
Copyright 2016 The Board of Trustees
of the University of Illinois.webmaster@cs.uic.edu
WISEST
Helping Women Faculty Advance
Funded by NSF