TWiki> CS301 Web>WebLeftBar>ReadingAssignments (revision 20)EditAttach

Reading Assignments

I strongly recommend the following reading before the relevant classes. The appropriate pages for the 2nd edition of the textbook are mentioned in parentheses.

  1. [Monday, August 27] Sipser textbook Chapter 0.
  2. [Friday, August 31] Sipser textbook pages 203–206 (pages in 175–178 in 2nd edition) on countable and uncountable infinite sets, and Chapter 1.1–1.3.
  3. [Monday, September 17] Sipser Chapter 1.4 on nonregular languages.
  4. [Wednesday, September 19] Sipser Chapter 2.1, 2.2.
  5. [Wednesday, October 5] Sipser Chapter 3.
  6. [Friday, October 12] Sipser Chapter 4.
  7. [Friday, October 26] Sipser Chapter 5.1 up to and including Thm 5.9.
  8. [Wednesday, October 31] Sipser Chapter 5.3.
  9. [Wednesday, November 7] Read Sipser Problems 5.28–5.30 and their solutions, on pages 241 and 243, 244, respectively, (pages 213 and 215 in 2nd edition). We will cover Rice's Theorem in class, not assign 5.28 as a problem.
  10. [Friday, November 9] Sipser Chapter 6.1 and 6.3.
  11. [Friday, November 16] Sipser Chapter 7.1–7.3.
  12. [Wednesday, November 28] Sipser Chapter 7.4.
  13. [Wednesday, December 5] Sipser Chapter 7.5.
-- Main.gharibian - 2012-08-24
Edit | Attach | Print version | History: r24 | r22 < r21 < r20 < r19 | Backlinks | Raw View | Raw edit | More topic actions...
Topic revision: r20 - 2012-10-30 - 15:55:34 - Main.sggharib
 
Copyright 2016 The Board of Trustees
of the University of Illinois.webmaster@cs.uic.edu
WISEST
Helping Women Faculty Advance
Funded by NSF