Mark Grechanik Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
My Students
© Copyright Mark Grechanik 2012
Graduated Ph.D. Students: Dr. B.M. Mainul Hossain successfully defended his dissertation on October 25, 2013 on Enhancing Parallelism and Scalability of Database-Centric Applications. Dr.Hossain is an Assistant Professor at the University of Dhaka, Bangladesh. PostDoc: Dr. Hainsheng Wang’s research was in detecting and resolving database deadlocks by generating and using supervisory controls. His first employment after his postdoc term was Oracle Corp. He was employed at my UIC lab from 11-2010 to 08-2011. PhD Committees: Sepideh Roghanchi, Delegation is (much) faster than you think. U. of Illinois, Chicago, IL. Malineh Monshizadeh, Inferring Specifications for Web Application Security, U. of Illinois, Chicago, IL. Peter Tse-Hsun Chen, Improving the Performance of Database-Centric Applications Through Program Analysis. Queen’s University, Canada. Wenyuan Fei, A Global Authentication System, U. of Illinois, Chicago, IL Sangmin Park, Effective Fault-Localization Techniques for Concurrent Software. Georgia Tech, Atlanta, GA. Mehdi Mirakhorli, Preventing Erosion of Architectural Tactics through their Strategic Implementation, Preservation, and Visualization, DePaul University, Chicago, IL. Fayola Peters, Privacy and Utility for Defect Prediction, West Virginia University, VA. Nasir Ali, Traceability, Département de Génie Informatique et Génie Logiciel,  École Polytechnique de Montréal,  Montréal, (Québec) Canada. Collin McMillan, Creating and Evolving Software via Searching, Selecting and Synthesizing Relevant Source Code, The College of William and Mary, Williamsburg, VA. Prithvi Bisht, Learning Intended Behavior to Detect and Prevent Attacks on Web Applications, University of Illinois at Chicago. Carlos Castro-Herrera, Application of Recommender Systems to Requirements Engineering Tasks, Depaul University, Chicago. Nazri Kama, Developing and assessing techniques for predicting the impact of a change request made during software development, University of Western Australia, Perth, Australia. Plamen Petrov, Enhancing the Software Architecture Analysis and Design Process with Inferred Macro-Architectural Requirements, U. of Illinois, Chicago. Kalpana Gondi, Program Analysis Techniques For Data Confidentiality, U. of Illinois, Chicago. Graduated UIC MS students under the master thesis option: Master theses of three students that I supervised were published as research papers at a competitive conferences. 1. Giovanni Agugini Bassi. Functional Programming Framework For Generating Random Java Programs With Prolog- Based Grammar Validation. April, 2019. 2. Gurpreet Kaur Chabada. Extracting concepts and constructing ontology from Software Engineering research papers. March 2019. 3. Giacomo Scolari. HARVEY: On Runtime Verification of Cyber-Physical Spaces. May 2018. 4. Kruti Sharma. Securing Smartphone Application in the Presence of Accessibility Technologies. May, 2017. 5. Davide Pagano, An Experimental Framework For Localizing Field Failures in Deployed Software Applications. December, 2015. 6. Aswathy Nair, Automatically Finding Abstractions for Input Space Partitioning for Software Performance Testing. September, 2011. 7. Andrea Bonisiol, Thesis: Testing Rule-Based Applications. December 2010. 8. Marco Comi, Thesis: Exploring Sourceforge Java Repository: A Structured Storage For Java Applications. May 2010. I co-supervised Marco with prof.Carlo Ghezzi. 9. Stefano Crespi, Thesis: Exploring Sourceforge Java Repository: Design and Implementation of Java Parser. May 2010. I co-supervised Stefano with prof.Carlo Ghezzi from the Politecnico di Milano. 10. Luca DiMinervino, Thesis: Design and Analysis of Portfolio: A Code Search Engine That Is Based On Module Dependencies Ranking. May 2010. 11. Daniele Casulli, Thesis: Development Of Personalized Mashup Components. May 2010. I co-supervised Daniele with prof. Maristella Matera from the Politecnico di Milano. 12. Luca DeFerrari, Thesis: Exploring Sourceforge Java Repository: Design and Implementation of the Multithreaded Crawler. December 2009. I co-supervised Luca with prof.Carlo Ghezzi from the Politecnico di Milano. 13. Alessio di Stasio, Thesis: Executing Universal Compositions: A Framework for the Integration of Web Services and User Interfaces. May, 2009. I co-supervised Alessio with profs. Prasad Sistla from UIC and Maristella Matera from the Politecnico di Milano. Graduated UIC MS students under the master project option: 1. Guillermo Vazques, December, 2008; 2. Palak Jain, May 2009; 3. Samatha Mannem, May 2009; 4. Arvind Gopal, May 2009; 5. Svetha Doddapaneni, December 2009; 6. Venu Madhav Thiruveedhi, December 2009. 7. Rahul Kolganti, December 2009. 8. Swetha Shenoy, December 2009. 9. Navya Bisalehali, December 2009. 10. Vijay Dheeraj Reddy Mandadi, August 2009. 11. Gowri Serkar Malapaka, August 2009. 12. Nimit Shah, May 2010. 13. Hariharan Subramanian, May 2010. 14. Arunrajkumar Dharumar, December 2010. 15. Rohan Dhond, May 2010. 16. Sekhar Gopisetty, May 2010. 17. Naresh Regunta, May 2010.  18. Ameya Barve, May 2010. 19. Ashim Shihvare, December 2010. 20. Denzil Rodrigues, May 2010. 21. Akila Balasubramanian, May 2010. 22. Naga Keerthi Gummadi, December 2010. 23. Ashwini Vishwanath, May 2010. 24. Karthika Balachandran, August 2010. 25. Balamurugan Prabakaran, January 2011. 26. Lavanya Soundarajan, May 2011. 27. Himanshu Sharma, May 2011. 28. Faraz Munshi, May 2011. 29. Priyanka Dawani, May 2011. 30. Kalyani Balakumar, May 2011. 31. Rohan C. Dhond, August 2011. 32. Arunsanjay Jayarathanam, August 2011. 33. Nischit Ranganath, August 2011. 34. Arthi Vijayakumar, August 2011. 35. Vaidehi Chandrasekar, December 2011. 36. Sugi Venugeethan, December 2011. 37. Deepthi Engalaur, December 2011. 38. Kasthuri Parthi, August 2012. 39. Niyaz Ahmed Amanullah, December 2012. 40. Surresh Balaji Arunachalam, Dec 2012. 41. Bharath Kumara Subramanian, Dec 2012. 42. Nitin Prabhu, December 2012. 43. Icewariya Swaminathan, January 2013. 44. Raagavi Rajarathinam, May 2013. 45. Nikhat Farha, May 2013. 46. Malathi Gundapuneni, May 2013. 47. Praveen Kumar Senathi Dwaraganath, May 2013. 48. Saikarthik Chintapatla, May 2013. 49. Krithika Vijayakumar, May 2013. 50. Saranya Balasanker, May 2013. 51. Venkateswaran Ganesan, May 2013. 52. Vishnu Gajendran, May 2013. 53. Rakesh Chowdary Ganta, May 2013. 54. Tathagata Dasgupta, May 2013. 55. Pratik Lala, August 2013. 56. Kevin George Varkey, August 2013. 57. Gaurav Purandare, August 2013. 58. Renu Srinivasan, August 2013. 59. Naresh Aluri, December 2013. 60. Nakul Rajan Kumar, December 2013. 61. Rajeev Reddy Vishaka, December 2013. 62. Sruthi Parankusham, December 2013. 63. Ashvitha Venkatesh Kumar, December 2013. 64. Subramanian Arumugam, May 2014. 65. Aditya Balasubramanian, May 2014. 66. Kailash R. Bysani, May 2014. 67. Ramya Kannan, May 2014. 68. Mohanakrishnakumar Karukaran, May 2014. 69. Prasad R. Nair, May 2014. 70. Sai Sundaram Parthasarathi, May 2014. 71. Vimalkumar D. Patel, May 2014. 72. Akshay A. Patil, May 2014. 73. Anushri Prabhu, May  2014. 74. Simant M. Purohit, May 2014. 75. Karthik Vasishta Ramesh, May 2014. 76. Pranav R. Shah, May 2014. 77. Rahul Sharma, May 2014. 78. Balaji Srinivasan, May 2014. 79. Akshay Thirkatesh, May 2014. 80. Srinivasan Venkatesan, May 2014. 81. Prammodh Vijayakumar, May 2014. 82. Chi Wu Mao, August 2014. 83. Ankush Baisal, August 2014. 84. Saurabh Dingolia, August 2014. 85. Ankita Bhatia, August 2014. 86. Mohit Arora, August 2014. 87. Payas Tikotekar, December 2014. 88. Bhavesh Gupta, December 2014. 89. Phani Theja Swarup Vempalli, May 2015. 90. Zichen Wang, August 2015. 91. Md Abu Naser Bikas, December, 2016. 92. Jyoti Arora, May, 2017. 93. Amrish Ashvinkumar Jhaveri, May 2019. 94. Adarsh Hegde, May 2019.